D / E
   
I AM A HOT MESS
A documentary film project by Johanna Faust, CH 2017
«I Am A Hot Mess» tells of a journey to various places – from Berlin to the Mexican desert, «I Am A Hot Mess» is a journey to my past and inside my family, «I Am A Hot Mess» is a journey I take to myself.
I am an artist and lived with my partner and our three children in Berlin. Ensconsed in our everyday life, I felt more and more alone and unfulfilled. This is why I decided to enroll in a master’s program in England and wanted to leave my partner behind in Berlin with the children. As a result of this decision, however, I suddenly remembered a part of my family history: my grandmother had left her family behind to devote herself to art. This gave me pause and suddenly I felt an urge to find out more about my grandmother, in particular what her decision meant to my mother.
It has been a long journey into the distant past and the relationships between three generations of women: layer by layer I uncovered the stories connecting my mother to her mother, me to her, and my daughter to me and to her Mexican grandmother. In the process I discovered that in my family similar constellations have been repeated over and over and that the traumatic experiences have been passed down from generation to generation. It was not until I confronted this that I realized how much the past shapes my life and emotions. I dove so deeply into this vortex that everything got very dark before I was able to see light again on the water’s surface.
«I Am A Hot Mess» is a road movie that traces the stories we carry around inside us that we are unaware of and a film about how an artistic confrontation situated between chaos and form creates a surface for reflection that makes it possible not only for the protagonists but also for viewers to reexamine their own history with fresh eyes.
Production: soap factory GmbH, Basel
Writer, director: Johanna Faust

RUÄCH
A documentary film project by Andreas Müller and Simon Guy Fässler, CH 2017
They disparaginly call us “Ruächä”, we call them gypsies. But who are the Jenish people who have always lived among us? Where do they come from, what kind of life do they lead and why? There are so many stories about them and so many stories they tell themselves. What is truth, what is legend? What is prejudice, what is romantical glorification? What is mythmaking or propagada?
Upon the invitation of a Jenish friend, a filmmaker sets off on an odyssey through the world of gypsies. With his cameraman he travels to the shaded valleys of the Grisons region, to the dusty suburbs of Geneva, and to an underground hiding place in Carinthia. He discovers a hidden transnational culture that immediately captivates him. He gathers the stories and images of a different way of life. But he is repeatedly met with suspicion and openly rejected by the Jenish, and the deeper he delves into their destinies, the more apparent the deep wound left by an upsetting past becomes.
«Ruäch» is a film about a people shrouded in myth – and about the difficulties of making this film. A portrait of the Jenish – in the mirror image of one of us.
Production: soap factory GmbH, Basel
Co-production: 8horses, Zurich
Writers: Andreas Müller, Simon Guy Fässler and Marcel Bächtiger
Director: Andreas Müller

PARALLEL LIVES
A documentary film project by Frank Matter, CH 2017
«Parallel Lives» tells the stories of four to five people who were born on the same day as the filmmaker – on June 8, 1964 – but in entirely different locations and under entirely different circumstances. That summer Nelson Mandela was sentenced to life in prison, the Rolling Stones performed on American television for the first time, the Palestinian National Council founded the PLO, and in Switzerland the Federal Council mandated a limit on the number of foreign workers in the workplace in the midst of the post-war economic boom. While a massive escalation in the Vietnam War was looming, in China the power struggle between pragmatists and ideologues was coming to a head, which would ultimately lead to the Cultural Revolution.
If you were born black in South Africa in 1964 you were considered a third-class human being, virtually without rights, discriminated against, and you had little hope of achieving prosperity and dignity. Two years later in China, millions of children were separated from their families or were forced to watch how their parents or siblings were sent off to perform hard labor in the fields or were arrested and re-educated. In Switzerland, the director’s mother was not even allowed to vote or go to the polls.
Even if the children of June 8, 1964, grew up in vastly different worlds, they are connected by many real and imaginary links, common cultural experiences, points of reference, and cross-cultural influences.
The filmmaker’s own life history serves both as the point of departure for the narration as well as a lens through which the other protagonists are observed. In so doing, «Parallel Lives» operates on two temporal levels: on the one hand, the film observes the protagonists in their everyday lives, tracing their traumas, conflicts, and contradictions; on the other, it narrates their life stories. The biographies enter into mutual relationships, generating points of contact, contradictions, reflections, and interactions. The film focuses on questions of cultural and social identity, will and fate, individual life and collective values, freedom and justice.
Production: soap factory GmbH, Basel & Recycled Tv AG, Berne
Writer, director: Frank Matter

CIAO BABYLON
A TV-documentary project by Kurt Reinhard and Christoph Schreiber, CH 2017
By the end of the century half of the 6,500 languages spoken today will have vanished. In Switzerland not only Romansh is under threat but some Swiss-German dialects are also disappearing. What does this loss mean for mankind?
In New York City roughly 800 languages are spoken, more than in any other city. In order to uncover these linguistic treasures and record the diverse range of idioms, linguist Dan Kaufman established the Endangered Language Alliance (ELA). In his archive we meet Luis Sànchez who makes weekly recordings in his native Nahuatl for ELA. He makes a big effort to remember words that he has not used for a long time. Another of ELA’s regulars is Amalia Malchiodi who records stories in an old Romontsch Sursilvan dialect. Over sixty years ago, Amalia emigrated from Sagogn in Grisons, and, after countless detours, eventually settled in New York. Her son Giancarlo spoke perfect Romansh as a boy, but later, as he says, decided out of youthful exuberance to only speak English. He now regrets that he is no longer proficient in the language of his forefathers.
This is why he has started to relearn the language and eventually embarks on a trip with Amalia to Sagogn, his mother’s hometown. There they meet a Portuguese family whose children are growing up with the Romansh language, which they are learning with relative ease given its similarity to their mother tongue. As a result, the many Portuguese immigrants in Grisons are becoming the new hope for the preservation of Romansh in Switzerland.
Precisely these kinds of surprising, unpredictable twists in the evolution of languages are fascinating to Dan Kaufman. He says of himself that he feels like “an Indiana Jones of linguistics: the archaeologist with a whip in his hand who goes after valuable treasures.” Kaufman has already preserved more than thirty languages from their complete disappearance. He says that no one can predict which languages will still be spoken in 200 years and which ones will only survive in the archives of the ELA.
Production: soap factory GmbH, Basel
Written and directed by: Kurt Reinhard and Christoph Schreiber

D / E
   
I AM A HOT MESS
ein Dokumentarfilmprojekt von Johanna Faust, CH 2017
«I Am A Hot Mess» erzählt eine Reise an verschiedene Orte – von Berlin bis in die Wüste Mexikos, «I Am A Hot Mess» ist eine Reise in meine Vergangenheit und ins Innere meiner Familie, «I Am A Hot Mess» ist eine Reise zu mir selbst.
Ich bin Künstlerin und lebte mit meinem Partner und unseren drei Kindern in Berlin. Umgeben von unserem Alltag, fühlte ich mich immer einsamer und unerfüllter. Ich entschloss mich deswegen zu einem Masterstudium in England und wollte meinen Partner mit den Kindern in Berlin zurück lassen. Durch diesen Entscheid wurde jedoch plötzlich ein Stück Familiengeschichte wieder in meiner Erinnerung präsent: Meine Grossmutter hatte damals ihre Familie verlassen, um sich der Kunst zu widmen. Ich hielt inne und plötzlich fühlte ich einen Drang mehr über meine Grossmutter zu erfahren, vor allem auch darüber, was ihr Entscheid für meine Mutter bedeutete.
Es wurde eine lange Reise tief in die Vergangenheit und in die Beziehungen zwischen drei Generationen von Frauen: Schicht um Schicht legte ich die Geschichten frei, die meine Mutter mit ihrer, mich mit ihr und meine Tochter mit mir und ihrer mexikanischen Grossmutter verbanden. Dabei entdeckte ich, dass sich in meiner Familie immer wieder ähnliche Konstellationen ergeben und sich die traumatischen Erfahrungen von Generation zu Generation übertragen hatten. Erst durch diese Auseinandersetzung wurde mir bewusst, wie sehr die Vergangenheit mein Leben und meine Gefühle prägt. Ich tauchte so tief ein in diesen Strudel, dass es ganz dunkel wurde, bevor ich wieder Licht an der Wasseroberfläche sehen konnte.
«I Am A Hot Mess» ist ein road movie, das den Geschichten nachgeht, die wir in uns herumtragen, ohne es zu wissen und ein Film darüber, wie durch eine künstlerische Auseinandersetzung zwischen Chaos und Form eine Reflexionsfläche entsteht, die nicht nur für die Protagonisten, sondern auch für die Zuschauer einen neuen Blick auf die eigene Geschichte ermöglicht.
Produktion: soap factory GmbH, Basel
Buch, Regie: Johanna Faust

RUÄCH
ein Dokumentarfilmprojekt von Andreas Müller und Simon Guy Fässler, CH 2017
Sie nennen uns abschätzig „Ruächä“, wir nennen sie Zigeuner. Aber wer sind die Jenischen, die seit jeher unter uns leben? Woher kommen sie, was für ein Leben leben sie und warum? Unzählige Geschichten werden über sie erzählt, unzählige Geschichten erzählen sie selbst. Was ist Wahrheit, was Legende? Was Vorurteil oder romantische Verklärung der Sesshaften, was Selbstmythos und Propaganda der Fahrenden?
Eingeladen von einem jenischen Freund, bricht ein Filmemacher zu einer Odyssee durch die Welt der Zigeuner auf. Mit seinem Kameramann reist er in die schattigen Täler des Bündnerlands, in die staubigen Banlieus von Genf und in ein unterirdisches Versteck in Kärnten. Er entdeckt eine verborgene transnationale Kultur, die ihn sogleich in ihren Bann zieht. Er sammelt die Geschichten und Bilder einer fremden Lebensart. Aber immer wieder stösst er bei den Jenischen auf Misstrauen und offene Ablehnung, und je tiefer er in ihre Schicksale eintaucht, desto sichtbarer wird die tiefe Wunde, die eine verstörende Vergangenheit hinterlassen hat.
«Ruäch» ist ein Film über ein sagenumwobenes Volk – und über die Schwierigkeiten, diesen Film zu drehen.
Ein Portrait der Jenischen – und im Spiegelbild eines von uns selbst.
Produktion: soap factory GmbH, Basel
Koproduktion: 8horses, Zürich
Autoren: Andreas Müller, Simon Guy Fässler und Marcel Bächtiger
Regie: Andreas Müller

PARALLEL LIVES
ein Dokumentarfilmprojekt von Frank Matter, CH 2017
«Parallel Lives» erzählt die Geschichten einer Handvoll Menschen, die wie ich am 8. Juni 1964 geboren wurden. Auch wenn wir auf verschiedenen Kontinenten und unter völlig gegensätzlichen Bedingungen aufgewachsen sind, gibt es in unseren Lebensgeschichten viele reale und imaginäre Querverbindungen. Wir haben dieselben Epochen durchlebt, waren Zeugen derselben Ereignisse, mussten uns mit Varianten desselben Zeitgeistes auseinandersetzen.
Die letzten 50 Jahre waren stark geprägt durch Befreiungs-, Liberalisierungs- und Emanzipationsprozesse, von der Entkolonisierung Afrikas über den gesellschaftlichen Umbruch nach dem Mai 68 bis zum Untergang der realsozialistischen Systeme, der Öffnung der Kapitalmärkte oder der zunehmenden Akzeptanz für Homosexuelle. Über diese Geschichte möchte ich nochmals nachdenken. Was ist mit uns passiert im Spannungsfeld von Befreiung und Entfremdung, persönlicher Freiheit und Vereinsamung, Emanzipation und Bevormundung, Liberalisierung und Neoliberalismus?
In den Biografien meiner Protagonisten dreht sich vieles um diese Fragen. Zukiswa ist in einem kleinen Dorf in Südafrika aufgewachsen, unter einem Regime, das ihr selbst grundlegende Rechte verwehrte. Nach dem Ende der Apartheid setzt ein gewaltiger Modernisierungsschub ein, der das soziale Gefüge in ihrem Umfeld völlig umkrempelt. Heute bestreitet Zukiswa den Lebensunterhalt als Kleinhändlerin zwischen Südafrika und China.
Michel verbrachte seine Kindheit in Paris. Als Jugendlicher flieht er nach Los Angeles, um den hohen Erwartungen seines ehrgeizigen und in dubiose Geschäfte mit Kaiser Bokassa verwickelten Vaters zu entkommen. Michel befreit sich radikal von allen bürgerlichen Konventionen, doch Drogen, Sex und Rock’n’Roll führen ihn an den Rand des Abgrundes.
Melissa sah ihren Vater als Kind oft monatelang nicht, weil er in Vietnam im Einsatz war. Die ersten paar Jahre lebt sie in der heilen und abgeschotteten Welt einer US-Armee-Basis in Deutschland, dann beginnt ein Nomadenleben mit ständigen Umzügen von einer Kaserne zur anderen. Bis Melissa von zu Hause wegläuft und sich ihr Leben in einen Alptraum verwandelt. In letzter Not rettet sie sich und kehrt in ihr vertrautes Milieu zurück, nur um zu entdecken, dass es die rechtschaffene Welt ihrer Eltern nicht mehr gibt, vielleicht nie gegeben hat.
«Parallel Lives» ist ein komplexer Bilderbogen, der die Zuschauer auf eine spannende, emotional bewegende Reise durch die letzten Jahrzehnte mitnimmt. Anhand von einzelnen Lebensgeschichten geht der Film der Frage nach, was wir im letzten halben Jahrhundert gewonnen und was wir verloren haben, wie unsere Utopien zerbröselt sind und was an ihrer Stelle bleibt.
Produktion: soap factory GmbH, Basel & Recycled Tv AG, Bern
Buch, Regie: Frank Matter

CIAO BABYLON
ein TV-Dokumentarfilmprojekt von Kurt Reinhard und Christoph Schreiber, CH 2017
Bis Ende Jahrhundert wird die Hälfte der 6’500 heute gesprochenen Sprachen verschwunden sein. In der Schweiz ist nicht nur das Rätoromanische bedroht, auch einzelne Deutschschweizer Dialekte sind am Verschwinden. Was für eine Bedeutung hat dieser Verlust für uns Menschen?
In New York City werden rund 800 Sprachen gesprochen, so viele wie in keiner anderen Stadt. Um diesen Sprachschatz zu heben und die vielfältigen Idiome aufzuzeichnen, hat der Linguist Dan Kaufman die Endangered Language Alliance (ELA) gegründet. In seinem Archiv lernen wir Luis Sànchez kennen, der einmal in der Woche Aufnahmen in seiner Muttersprache Nahuatl macht und dabei versucht, sich an Worte zu erinnern, die er schon lange nicht mehr verwendet hat. Auch Amalia Malchiodi ist von Zeit zu Zeit in der ELA-Feldstation anzutreffen. Sie erzählt für Dan Kaufmans Sprachenarchiv Geschichten in einem alten Romontsch Sursilvan. Vor über 60 Jahren ist Amalia aus dem bündnerischen Sagogn ausgewandert und über etliche Umwege in New York heimisch geworden. Ihr Sohn Giancarlo hatte als Junge perfekt Rätoromanisch gesprochen, aber später, wie er sagt, im jugendlichen Übermut beschlossen, nur noch Englisch zu reden. Er bereut mittlerweile, dass er die Sprache seiner Vorfahren nicht mehr beherrscht.
Deshalb beginnt er die Sprache wieder zu erlernen und unternimmt zusammen mit Amalia eine Reise nach Sagogn, die Heimat seiner Mutter. Dort lernen sie eine portugiesische Familie kennen. Die Kinder wachsen mit der rätoromanischen Sprache auf, die sie durch die Nähe zur eigenen Muttersprache relativ einfach lernen. So werden die vielen portugiesischen Einwanderer im Bündnerland zu Hoffnungsträgern für den Erhalt des Romanischen in der Schweiz.
Gerade solche überraschenden, nicht voraussehbaren Wendungen in der Entwicklung von Sprachen faszinieren Dan Kaufman. Er sagt von sich, er komme sich vor wie «ein Indiana Jones der Linguistik: der Archäologe mit der Peitsche in der Hand, der hinter wertvollen Schätzen her ist.» Schon über 30 Sprachen hat Kaufman vor ihrem völligen Verschwinden bewahrt. Er meint, niemand könne voraussagen, welche Sprachen in 200 Jahren noch gesprochen würden und welche dann nur noch im Archiv der ELA angehört werden können.
Produktion: soap factory GmbH, Basel
Buch, Regie: Kurt Reinhard und Christoph Schreiber